2011-06-02 / Front Page

Early voting begins for city special election for District 2 council seat

Early voting has begun for the special municipal election set June 21 to fill the District 2 Washington City Council seat vacated by the resignation of Pamela L.G. Eaton.

Eligible City District 2 voters may cast their early ballots for the special municipal election at the Voter Registrar office, Room 323, in the Wilkes County courthouse from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. through June 17.

Election-day voting on Tuesday, June 21, will be at the Commissioners Conference Room on the second floor of the courthouse. Voters will be able to check in with the new Easy Vote ID system.

Absentee ballots and paper ballots are available from Voter Registrar Gladys Reese. “You need to get in your absentee ballot request in to our office no later than 2:30 p.m. on June 17 so we can get it mailed on time,” she said.

Washington City Clerk Debbie Danner said that downtown merchant Henry Harris Jr., business owner Scott Lewis, and Rayle EMC engineer Robert S. “Pee Wee” Armour have qualified to be candidates in the election.

Return to top